Professor Jim Williams

Emeritus Professor
ANU College of Science
T: +61 2 6125 0373

Areas of expertise

  • Photonics, Optoelectronics And Optical Communications 020504
  • Electronic And Magnetic Properties Of Condensed Matter; Superconductivity 020404
  • Elemental Semiconductors 091204
  • Surfaces And Structural Properties Of Condensed Matter 020406
  • Condensed Matter Physics 0204
  • Electrical And Electronic Engineering 0906
  • Nanotechnology 1007
  • Materials Engineering 0912


Professor Williams obtained his BSc (1969) and PhD (1973) from the University of New South Wales before moving to Europe and North America for a series of research appointments, including a member of technical staff at Bell Telephone Laboratories, New Jersey, USA.  He returned to an academic post at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology in 1978 where he became Director of the Microelectronics and Materials Technology Centre in 1982.  In 1988 he moved to the Research School of Physical Sciences at ANU as Foundation Professor of the Department of Electronic Materials Engineering.  In 1997 he assumed the role of Associate Director of the Research School of Physics & Engineering at ANU and took up the Directorship of the School in 2002.  He retired from this position in 2012 and is now an Emeritus Professor at ANU.

His research has been in the diverse areas of materials science, nanotechnology, ion-solid interactions, semiconductor processing and high pressure research for over 45 years.  He has published over 450 refereed papers and five books within these fields, with over 9000 citations and a H index of 53.  He is best known internationally for his pioneering work on ion implantation into semiconductors, solid phase epitaxial growth, development of ion beam analysis methods, impurity gettering and nanoindentation of semiconductors, the latter area leading to prospects for novel patterning of silicon at room temperature.  He has served on the editorial board of ten international journals and three international conference series.  He was awarded the Boas Medal of the Australian Institute of Physics (1993) and the Thomas Rankin Lyle Medal of the Australian Academy of Science (2011). He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, the Materials Research Society, American Physical Society, is President of the Australian Materials Research Society and is the Chair of the Australian Academy of Science’s National Committee for Materials Science and Engineering.  He has been a Vice President of the International Union of Materials Research Societies and the founding director or initiator of two spin off companies, Acton Semiconductors and WRiota, in 1999 and 2004, respectively.


Return to top

Updated:  22 March 2019 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers