Dr Annika Werner

Senior Lecturer
College Arts & Social Sciences

Areas of expertise

  • Comparative Government And Politics 160603
  • Citizenship 160602

Research interests

Political parties; public attitudes; representation; radical rigth populism; European politics.


I am a Senior Lecturer at the School of Politics and International Relations, Australian National University. Prior to joining ANU in July 2019, I was a Research Fellow at the Centre for Governance and Public Policy, Griffith University. Before coming to Australia, I was a research fellow for the DFG-financed project MARPOR – Manifesto Research on Political Representation at the WZB Berlin Social Science Center (2009-2015). I received my PhD in Political Science from Humboldt-University Berlin in 2015.

Available student projects

I am happy to supervise Honours and PhD students who are committed to the principles of political science and plan projects about political parties, public attitudes or their interplay.

Current student projects

I currently supervise the following PhD students:

  • Building a Cartel on Shifting Sands: Party Communication Strategy in Conditions of Post-Modernity (Pandanus Petters, Griffith University)
  • Populist Parties (Fabian Habersack, Uni Salzburg)

I am part of the supervisorial panel at ANU:

  • Illiberalism and democratic backsliding (Bermond Scoggins)

Past student projects

I have successfully supervised the following Honours students:

  • 2017: Student Alienation in the Age of Employability: A study of student alienation and its relation to the legitimating narratives of the contemporary university (Pandanus Petters, who graduated with First Class Honours)
  • 2017: Investigating the Relationship Between Climate Change Attitudes and Voting Behaviour (Reese Boulton)
  • 2016: Deepening Engagement with the Indo-Pacific Region: An Evaluation of the New Colombo Plan Scholarship’s Current Contribution (Jayne Francis, who graduated with First Class Honours and received the University Medal)



Return to top

Updated:  26 May 2020 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers