Associate Professor Geoff Warren

PhD, BComm (Hons)
Fund Convenor, ANU Student Managed Fund
ANU College of Business and Economics
T: +61-411 241 091

Areas of expertise

  • Financial Economics 140207

Research interests

INVESTMENTS in general, with specific expertise in the following: 

  • Superannuation and retirement - default products; governance 
  • Funds management - performance, capacity, active vs passive
  • Portfolio construction, including asset allocation
  • Evaluation of investments - asset classes and strategies; valuation
  • Long-term investing
  • Taxation - imputation, managed funds



Geoff Warren is an Associate Professor at the Australian National University, where he is Fund Convenor of the ANU Student Managed Fund. He is an active researcher who focuses on investment-related areas with an applied emphasis, including: superannuation, funds management, portfolio construction, long-term investing, and the evaluation and taxation of investments. Prior to pursuing an academic career, Geoff spent over 20 years in investment markets, including as the Director of Capital Markets Research at Russell Investments; as an analyst, Chief Strategist and Head of Research with investment bank Ord Minnett / JP Morgan Australia; and as an equity portfolio manager at AMP Capital. He is currently a member of the Salvation Army Investment Advisory Board, the Atlas Infrastructure Investment Governance and Macro Advisory Boards, the ASIC Consultative Panel, the Super Consumers Australia Research Committee, and the Brandes Institute Asia-Pacific Advisory Board. Geoff has a PhD from the AGSM, and a BComm (Hons) with the University Medal from UNSW. 


Researcher's projects

Fund Management

  • Fund capacity
  • Alpha profiles and determinants


  • Retirement strategies - design and delivery
  • Drivers of retirement outcomes


  • Member switching
  • Scale impacts


Projects and Grants

Grants information is drawn from ARIES. To add or update Projects or Grants information please contact your College Research Office.

Return to top

Updated:  02 December 2023 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers