Miss Ye Wang

Research fellow
College of Engineering & Computer Science

Areas of expertise

  • Energy Generation, Conversion And Storage Engineering 091305
  • Numerical Modelling And Mechanical Characterisation 091307
  • Computational Methods In Fluid Flow, Heat And Mass Transfer (Incl. Computational Fluid Dynamics) 401204
  • Experimental Methods In Fluid Flow, Heat And Mass Transfer 401205

Research interests

  • Engineering thermodynamics
  • Heat transfer
  • Fluid mechanics
  • Concentrating solar thermal technology


  • 2019 -- Now, Research fellow, SolarThermal Group, Australian National University
  • 2015 -- 2020, PhD, Solar Thermal Group, Australian National University
  • 2014 -- 2015, Teaching fellow, School of Energy and Power Engineering, Tianjin University, China
  • 2011 -- 2014, Master, Thermophysical Engineering, School of Energy and Power Engineering, Beihang University, China
  • 2007 -- 2011, Bachelor, Thermodynamics Engineering, College of Energy and Mechanical Engineering, Shanghai University of Electric Power, China

Researcher's projects

Participated in the following projects:

  • ARENA project: bladed receiver with active airflow control
  • ASTRI P61: system modelling
  • HILTCRC: green heat
  • HelioCon and ASTRI P11: techno-economics analysis of helostats

Available student projects

  • Camera-based measurements of reflection from non-diffused and complex-shaped 3D objects
  • Surrogate modelling methods for Monte Carlo ray tracing (MCRT)
  • Heliostat field design for commercial-scale concentrating solar thermal systems

Current student projects

  • Flux variation on the tubes of a solar thermal receiver
  • Contingency analysis and risk management for system design
  • Feasibility of integrated PV-CSP systems
  • Feasibility of small-scale concentrating solar power systems
  • Rock-bed storage for concentrating solar thermal systems

Projects and Grants

Grants information is drawn from ARIES. To add or update Projects or Grants information please contact your College Research Office.

Return to top

Updated:  02 October 2022 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers