Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Professor Albert Van Dijk

MSc, PhD (2002)
Professor Water Science and Management, Fenner School of Environment & Society
ANU College of Science
T: (02) 612 52197

Areas of expertise

  • Environmental Monitoring 050206
  • Natural Resource Management 050209
  • Photogrammetry And Remote Sensing 090905
  • Ecosystem Function 050102
  • Surface Processes 040607
  • Surfacewater Hydrology 040608
  • Hydrogeology 040603
  • Water Resources Engineering 090509


Albert Van Dijk leads the Centre for Water and Landscape Dynamics at the Fenner School of Environment and Society.

Professor Van Dijk received his undergraduate, Master's degree (1996) and PhD (2002) in Environmental Sciences from VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

He was with CSIRO Land and Water from 2003 to 2009, where he won awards for his leadership in the Murray-Darling Sustainable Yields project, possibly the most ambitious water resources study ever undertaken, and subsequently, for leading development of the Australian Water Resources Assessment system, a model-data integration system now operational in the Bureau of Meteorology.

His research often involves the interaction of vegetation with the hydrological cycle and water-related processes such as erosion, sediment transport, nutrient cycling, salinity, the surface energy balance, the carbon cycle, fire risk, biodiversity, ecological resilience, and crop growth.

His focus is on applied science. Practical research applications include the prediction and management of natural hazards, water resources, environmental values and agricultural production. The theory and techniques brought to bear typically bridge the boundaries between environmental science and management, satellite remote sensing, and spatiotemporal simulation and model-data fusion.

Professor Van Dijk has authored more than 130 publications. 

He was inaugural chair and currently co-chair of the Australian Energy and Water Exchange Initiative (OzEWEX).

Available student projects

Scholarships and travel grants are available for high quality PhD, Masters and Honours students. For details visit the group web site.

Return to top

Updated:  27 April 2018 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers