Dr Ehsan Tavakoli Nabavi

Senior Lecturer in Technology and Society | Head of Responsible Innovation Lab
ANU College of Science


Dr Ehsan Nabavi is a Senior Lecturer in Technology and Society. His journey from civil engineer to sociologist and AI researcher (read his profile in Nature), has enabled him to teach and conduct research in various areas using quantitative and qualitative methods. In addition to dozens of book chapters, reports, and essays, Ehsan has published his research in several journals, including FuturesSustainability Science, Nature Humanities and Social Sciences CommunicationsIEEE Transactions on Technology and SocietyJournal of Cleaner ProductionWater AlternativesEnvironmental ManagementFrontiers in Communication, and Water Research.

He has established and lead ANU’s Responsible Innovation Lab—a Lab focusing on research and experimentation in responsible innovation. His current research focuses on responsible computing and modeling, Responsible AI, and developing responsible thinking and engagement about innovations proposed for wicked problems. 

Prior to his current position at CPAS, he was a Research Fellow at ANU School of Cybernetics (2018-2020), and Science, Technology, and Society group at Harvard Kennedy School (2016-2017).

Ehsan also has taken visiting positions at a number of world-leading schools and institutions including the School of African and Oriental Studies (SOAS) at The University of London and Center for Development Research (ZEF) at University of Bonn.

Current student projects

Michael Bennett, Developing a Framework for the Automation of Cognitive Labour


Projects and Grants

Grants information is drawn from ARIES. To add or update Projects or Grants information please contact your College Research Office.

Return to top

Updated:  18 July 2024 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers