Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Associate Professor Nicholas Southwood

PhD, BA (Hons)
Associate Professor/Reader (Level D)
ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

Areas of expertise

  • Political Theory And Political Philosophy 160609
  • Ethical Theory 220305


Nicholas Southwood is an Associate Professor and ARC Future Fellow in the School of Philosophy at the Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University. He is also Director of the Centre for Moral, Social and Political Theory and Co-Editor of The Journal of Political Philosophy. His work is primarily in moral and political philosophy but also engages with related issues in epistemology, philosophy of law and philosophy of social science. He is author of two monographs, Contractualism and the Foundations of Morality (OUP, 2010) and Explaining Norms (OUP, 2013) and many articles in journals including EthicsMindNoûsPhilosophical Studies and Philosophy & Public Affairs. His current research investigates the nature and proper role of feasibility in politics.

Researcher's projects

  1. 2017-2021: ARC Future Fellowship. FT160100409: Feasibility in politics: Taking account of groups and institutions. Dr N Southwood. $733,992
  2. 2014-2018: ARC Discovery Project. DP140102468: The demands of reason. Dr N Southwood; Prof P Pettit; Dr V McGeer; Prof J Broome. $166,000
  3. 2012-2016: ARC Discovery Project. DP120101507: Political normativity and the feasibility requirement. Dr N Southwood; Prof G Brennan; Prof D Estlund. $408,587


Current student projects

Current PhD Students Supervised ("*" designates Chair)

  1. Hugh Barrett* (in progress)
  2. Adam Bugeja* (in progress)
  3. Jesse Hambly (in progress)
  4. Josef Holden (in progress)
  5. Jessica Isserow (in progress)
  6. Ten-herng Lain (in progress)
  7. Susan Pennings (in progress)
  8. Lachlan Umbers* (in progress)
  9. Lucie White (submitted)
  10. James Willoughby (in progress)


Past student projects

Past PhD Students Supervised ("*" designates Chair)
  1. Daniel Friedrich (2008, accepted without revision)
  2. Holly Lawford-Smith (2010, accepted without revision)
  3. Jonathan Herington (2012, accepted without revisions)
  4. Jan Burgers (2013, accepted without revisions)
  5. Stephanie Collins (2014, accepted without revisions)
  6. Adam Gastineau (2015, accepted without revisions)
  7. Matthew Hammerton (2016, accepted without revisions)
  8. Ryan Cox (2017, accepted without revisions)



Return to top

Updated:  25 September 2018 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers