Associate Professor Nicholas Southwood

PhD, BA (Hons)
Associate Professor/Reader (Level D)
College of Arts and Social Sciences

Areas of expertise

  • Political Theory And Political Philosophy 160609
  • Ethical Theory 220305


Nicholas Southwood is an Associate Professor and ARC Future Fellow in the School of Philosophy at the Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University. He is also Director of the Centre for Moral, Social and Political Theory and Co-Editor of The Journal of Political Philosophy. His work is primarily in moral and political philosophy but also engages with related issues in epistemology, philosophy of law and philosophy of social science. He is author of two monographs, Contractualism and the Foundations of Morality (OUP, 2010) and Explaining Norms (OUP, 2013) and many articles in journals including EthicsMindNoûsPhilosophical Studies and Philosophy & Public Affairs. His current research investigates the nature and proper role of feasibility in politics.

Researcher's projects

  1. 2017-2021: ARC Future Fellowship. FT160100409: Feasibility in politics: Taking account of groups and institutions. Dr N Southwood. $733,992
  2. 2014-2018: ARC Discovery Project. DP140102468: The demands of reason. Dr N Southwood; Prof P Pettit; Dr V McGeer; Prof J Broome. $166,000
  3. 2012-2016: ARC Discovery Project. DP120101507: Political normativity and the feasibility requirement. Dr N Southwood; Prof G Brennan; Prof D Estlund. $408,587


Current student projects

Current PhD Students Supervised ("*" designates Chair)

  1. Hugh Barrett* (in progress)
  2. Jesse Hambly* (in progress)
  3. Josef Holden (in progress)
  4. Ten-herng Lai* (in progress)
  5. Susan Pennings (in progress)
  6. James Willoughby (in progress)


Past student projects

Past PhD Students Supervised ("*" designates Chair)
  1. Daniel Friedrich (2008)
  2. Holly Lawford-Smith (2010)
  3. Jonathan Herington (2012)
  4. Jan Burgers (2013)
  5. Stephanie Collins* (2014)
  6. Adam Gastineau (2015)
  7. Matthew Hammerton (2016)
  8. Lucie White (2017)
  9. Ryan Cox (2017)
  10. Jessica Isserow (2017)
  11. Lachlan Umbers* (2018)
  12. Adam Bugeja* (2018)



Projects and Grants

Grants information is drawn from ARIES. To add or update Projects or Grants information please contact your College Research Office.

Return to top

Updated:  20 September 2021 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers