Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Associate Professor Sally Sargeson

BA (1st class Hons, University medallist), PhD (Murdoch)
Senior Fellow, Department of Political & Social Change, College of Asia and the Pacific, ANU.
ANU College of Asia and the Pacific
T: +61 2 6125 9124

Areas of expertise

  • Comparative Government And Politics 160603
  • Government And Politics Of Asia And The Pacific 160606
  • Studies Of Asian Society 169903
  • Gender Specific Studies 169901

Research interests

Sally Sargeson's research interests encompass the political economies of development, social class, land rights, gender and rural governance in China.


Career highlights include her appointment as Faculty member at ANU (2007), University of Nottingham (2003-2007), University of Western Australia (2002), Murdoch University (1996-2002); Visiting Professor, School of Public Affairs and China Academy of Rural Development, Zhejiang University (2015, 2013, 2006) and Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences (2008). She has been awarded various competitive grants, including three large grants from the Australian Research Council; a Leverhulme Research Fellowship; and international grants from the Ford Foundation, British Academy, UK Universities' China Committee, Pacific Cultural Foundation, and Japan and Korea Foundations. She also is the recipient of numerous student awards and prizes, including a Fulbright Postgraduate Research Scholarship to study at Harvard University, Australian Award for Research in Asia, Australian Institute of International Affairs prize, ANU Anthropology prize, and a University medal.

Assessor for:

Cornell University Press; Oxford University Press;

Comparative Politics; Political Studies; World Development; Journal of Peasant Studies; Development and Change; Journal of Agrarian Change; Journal of Contemporary Asia; China Quarterly; China Journal; Modern China; Critical Asian Studies; 

Australian Research Council; Hong Kong Research Grants Council; UK Economic and Social Research Council.

Researcher's projects

'China's shortage of agricultural labour, and the rise of waged work in farming', 2016-2017

China's peasantry as a class', 20015-2016

'Converting farmland for development: politics, community and conflict', 2012-2017

'Women's political participation, representation and well-being: learning from China's villages',  2012-2017

'Enhancing women's property and agency in China's urban transition', 2006-2010


Return to top

Updated:  24 May 2017 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers