Mr Andrew Ray

LLB(Hons) / BSc (ANU)
Visiting Fellow
ANU College of Law

Areas of expertise

  • Constitutional Law 180108
  • Intellectual Property Law 180115


Andrew is a recent graduate of the ANU College of Law currently based in Sydney. Andrew has a strong academic background in technology law and the impact of AI on government. Andrew was the Global Winner (Law) at the 2019 Global Undergraduate Awards and was a Finalist in the Australian Law Awards in 2020. He has written for the Conversation and his work has been featured in the Guardian and the Saturday Paper. Andrew has been quoted by numerous parliamentary committees and testified before the Senate on the constitutionality of ADF regulations. Andrew holds an appointment as the National Administrator of the Philip C. Jessup Moot and has coached a number of ANU College of Law mooting teams.

A selection of Andrew's publications includes:

Andrew Ray and Dilan Thampapillai, 'Accessibility, Equity and e-Mooting: Law Schools Need to Adapt to Thrive' (2021) 2(2) ANU Journal of Law and Technology (forthcoming)

Andrew Ray, Arabella Young and Will Grant, 'Analysing the types of evidence used by Australian federal parliamentary committees' (2021) Australian Journal of Public Administration 

Andrew Ray, Bridie Adams and Dilan Thampapillai, 'Access to algorithms post-Robodebt: Do Freedom of Information laws extend to automated systems?' (2021) Alternative Law Journal 

Annika Reynolds, Andrew Ray and Shelby O’Connor, ‘Green Lawfare: Does the Evidence match the Allegations? An Empirical Evaluation of Public Interest Litigation Under the EPBC Act from 2009–2019’ (2020) 37(4) Environmental and Planning Law Journal 497

Andrew Ray, ‘Implications of the Future Use of Machine Learning in Complex Executive Decision-Making’ (2020) 1(1) ANU Journal of Law and Technology 4

Thomas Faunce, Andrew Ray, Christie Gardiner, Thomas Preiss and Gaetan Burgio, ‘Regulating RNA Research and CRISPR Gene Drives to Combat Biosecurity Threats’ (2018) 26 Journal of Law and Medicine 208

Return to top

Updated:  24 September 2021 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers