Professor Gottfried Otting

ANU College of Science

Areas of expertise

  • Physical Organic Chemistry 030505
  • Proteins And Peptides 030406
  • Characterisation Of Biological Macromolecules 030403
  • Synthetic Biology 060113
  • Molecular Medicine 030405
  • Medical Biochemistry: Proteins And Peptides (Incl. Medical Proteomics) 110106
  • Structural Chemistry And Spectroscopy 030606
  • Organic Chemical Synthesis 030503
  • Genetic Immunology 060406
  • Structural Biology (Incl. Macromolecular Modelling) 060112
  • Organometallic Chemistry 039904
  • Cellular Immunology 110704
  • Analytical Biochemistry 060101
  • Enzymes 060107
  • Chemical Characterisation Of Materials 030301
  • Analytical Spectrometry 030101
  • Biological Physics 029901
  • Analytical Chemistry 0301
  • Other Biological Sciences 0699
  • Environmental Biotechnology 1002
  • Medicinal And Biomolecular Chemistry 0304
  • Organic Chemistry 0305
  • Biochemistry And Cell Biology 0601


Born 1958 in Heidelberg, Germany

1977-1984 Study of Chemistry in Heidelberg and Freiburg, Germany

1984-1987 PhD (biomolecular NMR) at the ETH-Zürich in the group of Prof. Kurt Wüthrich (Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry 2002)

1987-1992 Academic position with Prof. Kurt Wüthrich

1992-2002 Professor of Molecular Biophysics at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden

2002-2007 ARC Federation Fellow at the Australian National University (ANU) in Canberra, Australia

from 2007 Professor at the ANU

2017-2022 ARC Australian Laureate Fellow at the ANU

President of the Australian and New Zealand Magnetic Resonance Society (ANZMAG) 2006-08

Awards: ETH silver medal for PhD thesis (1987), Latsis Prize of the ETH-Zürich (1992), FEBS Anniversary Prize of the Gesellschaft für Biologische Chemie (1993), Wallmarkska Prize of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (1996), foreign member of the Latvian Academy of Sciences (2005), Humboldt Research Award (2010), Medal of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Magnetic Resonance (2013), ISMAR Fellow (2016)

Combined citations of publications: >15000
h-index: > 70

Researcher's projects


  • development of NMR techniques in view of pharmaceutical applications. This involves (i) rapid structure determinations of small molecules bound to target proteins and (ii) the determination of three-dimensional structures of protein-protein complexes.
  • implementation and development of selective labelling strategies for proteins, including in vitro expression, site-directed labelling techniques established by Prof. Peter Schultz, Scripps.
  • determination of the three-dimensional structure of medically important proteins and protein domains. Many projects result from a long-standing collaboration with Prof. Nicholas E. Dixon (University of Wollongong).
  • 3D structure determinations of protein domains of unknown structure

Available student projects

See the publication list for past and current interests of the group. Collaboration with pharmaceutical industry and visits at collaborating groups for practical work is encouraged.


There are no possbilities in the moment to pay for an additional postdoctoral salary. Anyone coming with his/her own fellowship, however, will be more than welcome!

PhD positions

There are no grant-funded PhD scholarships available. 


the right persons are

  • physicists or chemists with interdisciplinary interest, ready to learn molecular biological and biochemical techniques (protein cloning, expression and purification)
  • physicists or chemists, ready to learn NMR spectroscopy

Any applicant is expected to have university degrees significantly above average.

Tuition fee waivers can be arranged for highly performing overseas applicants for PhD studies.

To send an application
Please include a CV, information about your university degrees, and subjects of study and expertise.
Direct enquiries to Gottfried Otting.



Projects and Grants

Grants information is drawn from ARIES. To add or update Projects or Grants information please contact your College Research Office.

Return to top

Updated:  22 June 2024 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers