Dr Woei Ming Steve Lee

PDF- BioEng (Harvard Med, USA), PhD - Optics (St Andrews Uni, UK), B.Eng- EE (NTU, Singapore)
Group Leader
College of Engineering & Computer Sciences
T: +61261256058

Areas of expertise

  • Fluidisation And Fluid Mechanics 091504
  • Biomedical Instrumentation 090303
  • Biomedical Engineering 0903
  • Photonics, Optoelectronics And Optical Communications 020504
  • Biological Physics 029901
  • Medical Biotechnology Diagnostics (Incl. Biosensors) 100402
  • Optical Physics 0205
  • Nanometrology 100710
  • Nanophotonics 100711
  • Soft Condensed Matter 020405

Research interests

oBIGGoogle Scholar , ORCID

  1. Applied Optics:  Engineer novel optics devices/instruments.
  2. Biomedical Photonics: Engineering Optics for medical application
  3. Biofluidic Imaging: Combine advanced optics/software/optical instrumentation to quantify microscopic biological fluidics events.


Steve Lee completed his undergraduate training in Electronics Engineering at the Nanyang Technological University (Singapore) and a PhD in Optics at Optical Trapping Group at the University of St Andrews (UK) . Prior to his PhD studies, Dr Lee has worked as an optical engineer/senior technical consultant for 3 years that focus on developing commerical laser scanning instruments (Einst Tech Pte Ltd). During his PhD with Kishan Dholakia and Ewan Wrighthe developed novel optical manipulation technologies. He performed the first conclusive nonlinear light measurements on artifical kerr medium and built a multimodality bioworkstation. In 2010, he left the UK to pursue a 2-year postdoctoral training at Wellman Photomedicine/Harvard Medical School (USA) with Seok-Hyun Andy Yun, where he developed adaptive intravital endomicroscopy for live small animal imaging. That is followed by a short stint as a Vice Chancellor Fellow at UNSW on nanowire optical manipulation. In 2013, he started his own research group (Optical Biofluidics Imaging Group-oBIG) at ANU Research School of Electrical,Energy and Materials Engineering to develop novel optical techniques and instruments to harness light for application in biomedicine and nanotechnology, where he won the 2014 ANSTO Eureka Prize for developing low cost elastomer optics. In 2014, he joins ARC Centre of Excellence for Advanced Molecular Imaging as an Associated Investigator to develop the next generation of intravital microscopy for in-vivo imaging. In 2015, he receive an ARC Discovery Early Career Research Award (DECRA). In 2016, he joins ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale Biophotonics as an Associated Investigator. 

Available student projects


Projects and Grants

Grants information is drawn from ARIES. To add or update Projects or Grants information please contact your College Research Office.

Return to top

Updated:  03 July 2020 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers