Professor Chennupati Jagadish

Distinguished Professor
ANU College of Science

Areas of expertise

  • Condensed Matter Physics 0204
  • Elemental Semiconductors 091204
  • Surfaces And Structural Properties Of Condensed Matter 020406
  • Nanoelectronics 100705
  • Photonics, Optoelectronics And Optical Communications 020504
  • Materials Engineering 0912
  • Synthesis Of Materials 030306
  • Photonics And Electro Optical Engineering (Excl. Communications) 090606
  • Electronic And Magnetic Properties Of Condensed Matter; Superconductivity 020404
  • Nonlinear Optics And Spectroscopy 020503
  • Nanomaterials 100708
  • Compound Semiconductors 091203
  • Electrical And Electronic Engineering 0906
  • Nanotechnology 1007
  • Optical Physics 0205

Research interests

Our research interests are based on compound semiconductor optoelectronics, nanotechnology, photovoltaics and materials science. 

Compound Semiconductor Nanotechnology

  • Epitaxial Growth of Quantum Dots and Nanowires
  • Optical and Electronic Processes in Quantum Dots and Nanowires
  • Nano-Optoelectronics and Nano-Photonics

Compound Semiconductor Optoelectronics (III-V semiconductors)

  • Quantum Well, Quantum Dot and Nanowire Lasers
  • Quantum Well and Quantum Dot Infrared Photodetectors
  • Saturable Absorbers, Optical Modulators, Waveguides and Switches
  • Photonic Integrated Circuits, THz Photonics and Photonic Crystals
  • Plasmonics and Metamaterials

Compound Semiconductor Materials Science

  • Epitaxial growth of III-V semiconductors
  • Defects in semiconductors (ion implantation, plasma processing)
  • Zinc Oxide - Doping, Defects and Processing
  • Selective Area Epitaxy, Quantum Well / Dot Intermixing

Engineering of Neuron growth using nanowires towards "Brain on a Chip"

  • Understanding of growth of neuronal networks using nanowires jointly with JCSMR and RSEng, CECS

High Efficiency Compound Semiconductor Photovoltaics

  • High Efficiency Multi-junction III-V semiconductor Solar Cells
  • Novel Quantum Dot III-V semiconductor Solar Cells
  • III-V Semiconductor Nanowires for Solar Cells


Jagadish received the B.Sc. (Nagarjuna), M.Sc(Tech) (Andhra),  M.Phil. and Ph.D. (Delhi) degrees in 19977, 1980, 1982 and 1986. He was a Lecturer in Physics and Electronics at S.V. College, University of Delhi, during 1985-88 and worked at Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada, during 1988-90 as a post-doctoral research fellow. He moved to ANU in 1990 and is currently Distinguished Professor and Head of Semiconductor Optoelectronics and Nanotechnology Group in the Department of EME, RSPE, the ANU. He is also serving as Director of ANFF, ACT node and Convenor of the Australian Nanotechnology Network.   He has served as Vice-President and Secretary Physical Sciences of the Australian Academy of Science and current serving as President of the IEEE Photonics Society and Australian MRS.   His research interests include compound semiconductor optoelectronics, neuroscience and nanotechnology. He holds honorary appointments at UESTC, Chengdu, Nanjing, Tokyo, Anna and Mangalore Universities.

He has published more than 880 research papers (600 journal papers), 5 US patents assigned, co-authored a book, co-edited 11 books, guest edited 15 special issues of journals and edited 12 conference proceedings. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, APS, MRS, OSA, AVS, ECS, AIP, IoP, IoN, IET, AAAS, SPIE, EMA, APAM, APAS, IASc, INSA, NAI, TWAS, ATSE and AAS and Hon Mem MRSI.  He  is serving as an Editor of 3 journals, an Associate Editor of 3 Journals and an editorial board member of 15 journals.  He received Peter Baume Award, Federation  Fellowship (2004-2009) and Laureate Fellowship (2009-20014). He received 2010 The Quantum Device Award from the ISCS. He has been awarded IEEE Photonics Society (IPS) 2010 Distinguished Service Award, 2011 IEEE NTC Distinguished Service Award, 2010 Top Supervisor Award for excellence  by the ANU, 2012 EPD Division award of the ECS, 2013 Boas Medal from the AIP, 2015 IEEE Nanotechnology Pioneer Award, IPS Engineering Achievement Award, Distinguished Fellow of CAS,Silver Jubilee International Award from MRSIndia,2016 OSA Nick Holonyak Jr Award, 2017, IUMRS Somiya Award, 2017 Nayudamma Award. He has received Australia's highest civilian honour, Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in 2016 for his service to physics and engineering, in particular nanotechnology.  


Projects and Grants

Grants information is drawn from ARIES. To add or update Projects or Grants information please contact your College Research Office.

Return to top

Updated:  16 July 2024 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers