Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Dr Reynaldo Ileto

Honorary Professor
ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

Areas of expertise

  • Asian History 210302
  • Religion And Society 220405
  • Postcolonial Studies 200211
  • Government And Politics Of Asia And The Pacific 160606

Research interests

Religiopolitical movements in Southeast Asia; 19th-century Spain and the Philippines; Philippine Revolution, 1896 ff.; U.S.-Philippine relations, 1899 ff.; History of nation-building in the Philippines, 1898-2016; Production of historical knowledge in Southeast Asia; History of Southeast Asian Studies; Tagalog popular literature.


REYNALDO C. ILETO received his PhD in Southeast Asian History from Cornell University in 1975. His major works include Magindanao, 1860-1888: The Career of Datu Uto of Buayan (1971, 2007); Pasyon and Revolution: Popular Movements in the Philippines, 1840-1910 (1979, 2011); Filipinos and their Revolution: Event, Discourse, and Historiography (1998); and Knowledge and Pacification: On the U.S. Conquest and the Writing of Philippine History (2017). He also wrote “Religion and Anticolonial Movements” for the Cambridge History of Southeast Asia (1992) and Knowing America’s Colony, A Hundred Years from the Philippine War (1999). He was Reader in Asian Studies at the ANU, Associate Professor at the University of the Philippines, and Research Scholar at both Kyoto University and Tokyo University of Foreign Studies. He was Professor of Southeast Asian Studies at the National University of Singapore until 2012 and Adjunct Senior Fellow at Nanyang Technological University to 2017. His works have earned him the Benda Prize in Southeast Asian Studies (1985), Masayoshi Ohira Prize (1986), Philippine National Book Award (1999), Fukuoka Asian Culture Academic Laureate (2003), and Grant Goodman Prize in Philippine History (2011).

Researcher's projects

Book-writing projects to be completed in 2018:

A History of the Philippines, 1898-2016: Empire, Nation-building, and the Unfinished Revolution


Return to top

Updated:  17 December 2017 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers