Professor Gavin Huttley

ANU College of Science

Areas of expertise

  • Molecular Evolution 060409
  • Biological Mathematics 010202
  • Medical Genetics (Excl. Cancer Genetics) 110311
  • Anthropological Genetics 060401
  • Genomics 060408
  • Applied Statistics 010401
  • Genome Structure And Regulation 060407
  • Genetics 0604
  • Biochemistry And Cell Biology 0601
  • Other Biological Sciences 0699
  • Epigenetics (Incl. Genome Methylation And Epigenomics) 060404
  • Population, Ecological And Evolutionary Genetics 060411
  • Bioinformatics 060102
  • Bioinformatics Software 080301
  • Software Engineering 080309
  • Biostatistics 010402


Professor Gavin Huttley is a group leader in the Research School of Biology at the Australian National University. He obtained a B.Sc (Hons I) from Macquarie University in Sydney, a PhD in Molecular Population Genetics from the University of California, Riverside and undertook postdoctoral research in the Laboratory of Genomic Diversity, National Cancer Institute (USA). He is a recipient of the Howard Florey Young Investigator award. Professor Huttleys research is focussed on genome decryption — identifying regions of the genome which encode functions that influence susceptibility to disease — through analysis of genetic variation.


Available student projects

The Huttley lab offers a dynamic research environment enriched by collaborations with high profile, highly productive researchers at international institutions. Our research spans several traditional scientific disciplines that are now largely amalgamated under the label of Bioinformatics — comparative and population genomics, mathematical statistics and computer science. A major research product from the group is the open source Bioinformatics software package Cogent3. Students in my group need to have some facility with programming, either formally (in terms of course work) or an aptitude for it. Other valuable backgrounds include chemistry and physics.

Please see the lab web page for projects.



Return to top

Updated:  22 June 2024 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers