Dr Timothea Turnbull

BA (Mulhouse), MA (Geneva), MA (ANU), PHD (ANU), AFHEA
Endeavour Doctoral Scholar, 2018 ANU IARU Global Summer Program academic convenor
College of Asia & the Pacific

Areas of expertise

  • International Law (Excl. International Trade Law) 180116
  • International Relations 160607
  • Australian Government And Politics 160601


Timothea's doctoral research focussed on state diplomatic behaviour during multilateral arms control treaties. Timothea was a 2018 Summer Scholar with the Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security (FADS) Section of the Australian Parliamentary Library, where she researched parliamentary perceptions of the ANZUS alliance since 1951. Timothea was a 2015-2016 Endeavour Postgraduate Scholar and a 2016 Doctoral Fellow with the Geneva Centre for Security Policy (GCSP). She is an associate fellow of the Higher Education Academy (HEAUK). After completing her Masters research in Switzerland on negotiations on the liberalisation of agricultural trade, Timothea spent seven years as a business consultant in financial services and communications in Australia and France. In 2013, Timothea completed her Masters in Diplomatic Studies at the Asia-Pacific College of Diplomacy at the ANU. Timothea also holds an M.A. in European Studies, University of Geneva, Switzerland and a B.A. in International Business, Université de Haute Alsace, France.

Researcher's projects

  • Doctoral research: diplomacy in context, Australia, Canada and New Zealand and humanitarian arms control treaty-making
  • Parliamentary perceptions of the ANZUS treaty, in collaboration with the Foreign Affairs, Defense and Security branch (FADS), Parliamentary of Australia
  • Middle power disarmament diplomacy, as presented to the 2018 International Studies Association Annual Conference, San Francisco
  • Technology-Enhanced Learning


Projects and Grants

Grants information is drawn from ARIES. To add or update Projects or Grants information please contact your College Research Office.

Return to top

Updated:  26 November 2020 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers