Associate Professor Bernadette Fitzgibbon

ANU College of Health and Medicine

Areas of expertise

  • Neurosciences 3209
  • Central Nervous System 320903
  • Clinical And Health Psychology 5203
  • Biological Psychology 5202
  • Behavioural Neuroscience 520202
  • Cognitive Neuroscience 520203
  • Social And Affective Neuroscience 520207

Research interests



Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation


Mental Illness



Psychedelic Therapy


Associate Professor Bernadette Fitzgibbon is the Deputy Director of Research at the Monarch Research Institute within the Monarch Mental Health Group, and an Associate Professor at ANU and Monash University. Her research program is dedicated to advancing next-step treatment services for people living with a mental illness and/or chronic pain, including through the application and optimization of brain stimulation and psychedelic therapies. She has successfully led her own and is/has been an investigator on a number of clinical trials, several of which have already been translated into practice.  

Bernadette has published >70 journal articles, 3 book chapters, and has been awarded >2.5 million in research funding. Her work has been recognised through a number of awards including being invited to give the 2021 Tess Cramond Lecture at the Australasian Pain Society Meeting and the 2018 Australasian Brain Stimulation Society Early Career Award. She has presented her work at more than 60 conferences and events including being invited to provide a plenary at the 2022 Neuromodulation Society of Australia & New Zealand 15th Annual Scientific Meeting.

Bernadette is also passionate about the advancement of brain sciences within Australia, as reflected in role as chair of the Australian Brain Alliance EMCR Network (2017-2021) and an Executive Member of the Australian Brain Alliance (2017-2021), an initiative of the Australian Academy of Science to bring together strategic brain research across Australia. She is a current executive member of the Australasian Brain Stimulation Society (2019-). 

A full list of her publications can be found at



Return to top

Updated:  23 June 2024 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers