Professor Nick Birbilis

Interim Dean, CECS
ANU College of Engineering, Computing and Cybernetics
T: +6 215 8807

Areas of expertise

  • Materials Engineering 0912
  • Metals And Alloy Materials 091207
  • Manufacturing Engineering 0910
  • Nanotechnology 1007
  • Composite And Hybrid Materials 091202
  • Glass 091206
  • Engineering Design 1204

Research interests

Materials Design | Alloys | Additive Manufacturing | Corrosion Science | Materials Durability | Sustainability


Professor Nick Birbilis, was appointed Interim Dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science (CECS), within the Australian National University, in October 2021. Nick previously served as Deputy Dean (and acting Associate Dean Research) with CECS from November 2018 - leading the College through an unprecedented investment to reimagine engineering, computing and technology for the 21st century.

Nick’s research is highly interdisciplinary, as a world-renowned materials engineer he is recognised for contributions in microstructure-corrosion relationships, including in the area of light alloys and additively manufactured alloys as well as 3D printing, with >20 associated patents. As part of his dedication to the field of materials engineering, Nick founded the 'Birbilis Family Corrosion Award' at Monash University, with an eye to creating more opportunities for engineering students from diverse backgrounds.

He is a Fellow of the Electrochemical Society, the National Association of Corrosion Engineers, the International Society of Electrochemistry, and Engineers Australia. Nick has also been awarded numerous accolades, including the Batterham Medal from the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and the HH Uhlig Award from the Electrochemical Society USA. Having published over 450 papers, with >26000 citations, he is also the Editor-in-chief of the interdisciplinary journal npj Materials Degradation. and serves as Editor for the journal Electrochimica Acta.

Nick received a Bachelor of Engineering (First Class Honors) in 2001, a PhD from Monash University in 2004 and went on to work in parallel as a Senior Corrosion Engineer with AECOM in addition to being a teaching and research academic. From 2013-2018, Nick was the Head of Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Monash University where he led with a focus on student growth and diversity. He was also awarded the foundational honour of the Woodside Innovation Chair at Monash University. Nick has undertaken Executive leadership training from Oxford University and Business Administration training from the University of Illinois.

Over the past decade, Nick has maintained a focus on transformational leadership, empowering and enabling others, he has a strong passion for engagement and enterprise - which are critical to the function of modern universities and their role.

Available student projects

1) Machine learning in materials design 

2) Sustainable materials and recycling

3) Modelling of electrochemical phenomena

4) Corrosion of emerging materials

5) Additive manufacturing of metals and alloys

6) High entropy alloys and advanced metallic materials

Return to top

Updated:  21 February 2024 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers