Professor Amanda Barnard PhD

Senior Professor and Leader of Computational Science, Deputy Director
ANU College of Engineering, Computing and Cybernetics

Areas of expertise

  • Applications In Physical Sciences 460104
  • Applications In Health 460102
  • Machine Learning 4611
  • Condensed Matter Modelling And Density Functional Theory 510403
  • Nanomaterials 401807
  • Data Engineering And Data Science 460501

Research interests

  • Applied machine learning and artificial intelligence
  • Data science and eResearch
  • Computational methods for the physical sciences, including theoretical development and simulation
  • Informatics applied to materials, nanotechnology and health
  • High performance computing



Professor Amanda Barnard currently leads research at the interface of computational modeling, high performance supercomputing, and applied machine learning and artificial intelligence (AI).  She has previously held positions as Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellow in the Center for Nanoscale Materials at Argonne National Laboratory (USA), and a Violette & Samuel Glasstone Fellow at the University of Oxford (UK) with an Extraordinary Research Fellowship at The Queen’s College. Prior to joining ANU she was an ARC QEII Fellow, Office of the Chief Executive Science Leader, and then Chief Research Scientist in Data61 at CSIRO, between 2009 and 2020.

She sits on boards for various institutions, and is a member of the Board of Directors for New Zealand eScience Infrastructure (NeSI), the College of Assessors for the NZ Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE), and the Expert Panel for the CRP scheme of the National Research Foundation of Singapore. She is the Editor-in-Chief and Chair of the Executive Board of Nano Futures (IOP), a member of the Executive Advisory Board for the Journal of Physics: Materials (IOP), the Editorial Advisory Board of Nanoscale (RSC), the Editorial Advisory Board of Advanced Theory and Simulation (Wiley) and the Editorial Advisory Board of Matter (Cell Press).  She was formerly Chair of the Australian National Computational Merit Allocation Scheme (NCMAS) from 2018-2019, and is currently the Chair of the Australasian Leadership Computing Grants (ALCG) scheme at the National Computational Infrastructure (NCI), and a member of the Programme Committee for Pawsey Supercomputing Centre PaCER Scheme.

She has been recognised for leadership, including as a 2017 Woman of Achievement from the Black & White Foundation, as a Finalist for the 2015 Daily Life Women of the Year. Her research has been awarded the 2009 Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics from IUPAP, the 2009 Mercedes Benz Environmental Research Award, the 2009 Malcolm McIntosh Award from the Prime Minister of Australia for the Physical Scientist of the Year, the 2010 Frederick White Prize from the AAS, the 2010 Distinguished Lecturer Award from the IEEE South Australia, the 2010 Eureka Prize for Scientific Research, the 2014 ACS Nano Lectureship (Asia/Pacific), the 2014 Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (Theory), and the 2019 AMMA Medal from the Association of Molecular Modellers of Australasia.  In 2022 she was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia.


Return to top

Updated:  18 June 2024 / Responsible Officer:  Director (Research Services Division) / Page Contact:  Researchers